ZBrushCentral

ZBrush 2019.1 not recognizing Huion Kamvas 191 Tablet

Hi there,

I’ve been using ZBrush 2018 with my Huion before, but since I got the 2019 update it seems to not be recognising my pen. I’ve checked all other possibilities (the tablet works perfectly on other programmes like Photoshop, so it’s definitely not a tablet cable/driver issue). Has anyone else had a similar issue?

Many thanks!

1 Like

Hi @saralaubscher!

Just because the tablet works in other situations, doesn’t necessarily mean it’s not a driver issue in regard to Zbrush.

You may want to give a quick peek in Zbrush in Preferences > Tablet to make sure that “Use Tablet” is enabled.

When you say that Zbrush doesn’t recognize the Pen, does that mean it’s completely unresponsive (cursor doesn’t move when you use the pen on the tablet) ? Or is it that the pressure-sensitivity doesn’t function as it should?

If the tablet doesn’t function at all, you will probably want to make a Support ticket so they can help you. I’m unfamiliar with that brand of tablet, and they would want to know if there’s a compatibility issue.

Good luck!

If the tablet responds to touch and movement but not pressure, this typically means a problem with the WinTab service. Tablets come in two main varieties: WinTab and N-Trig. They are totally different protocols and incompatible with each other. ZBrush supports WinTab since that is the dominant protocol in the industry.

Microsoft owns N-Trig, which means that all Surface machines use that protocol. I do not know which one Huion tablets use.

If Huion uses WinTab and have installed the most current drivers from the Huion site, then it’s likely that simply restarting the computer will fix the issue. If not, then you may need to uninstall the tablet drivers, downloading and installing a fresh copy from Huion.