ZBrushCentral

New to ZBrush and Teaching Myself

Hi Everyone! Im new to the forums, and to the software!

I am an industrial designer by training and trade, but my true passion has been in character/creature design ever since I was a little kid, specifically comic characters and monsters. I would love nothing more than to create highly detailed sculptures that could then be 3D printed and made into figurines or statues. I suppose I would need to be able to sell a few of them in order to finance this hobby, however (and I realize it may be a pipe dream) if I found that I was good at it and became successful I would definitely consider taking it on full-time in the future.

My strengths have always been in 2d visualization, but I’m fairly proficient in one particular 3D nurbs software package (Autodesk Alias) and Im decent with industrial clay modeling but I wanted to expand my skill set into digital sculpture as well. I spent a bit of time using Autodesk Mudbox, mainly because the interface was a bit more familiar to me coming from Alias, however I found that a basic proficiency in Maya is absolutely essential in order to take full advantage of the tools. Obviously a decent grasp of Maya would definitely prove useful anyway, but I wanted the ability to start a sculpt from nothing and you simply cannot do that easily in Mudbox. If you can’t build your own custom base meshes in Maya, you are relegated to using the 7 or 8 base meshes that come preloaded, or downloading someone else hard work, which I was just not satisfied with doing. Zsperes and Dynamesh were the answer I was looking for, so here I am making the move.

Any advice or feedback you kind folks may have for me along my journey is welcome and I thank you in advance.