ZBrushCentral

Ellen Ripley from Aliens

Hey everyone,

This is my first post here. I’ve used ZBrush for a while, and I’ve done quite a few things in it. This picture of Ripley from Aliens is one of my more serious attempts creating a realistic portrait. It probably needs some more tweeking, but for now I’m pretty happy with it:

The model is sculpted from a sphere using DynaMesh. I’ve used Softimage to manually retopo the model, and then finished it using ZBrush. Since Softimage is canceled I’ve recently started to learn Maya. I took this as an oportunity to learn creating hair using XGen and this is the first project I’m using Maya for (previously my models have remained hairless, since I don’t get along with Hair in Softimage). All hair is done using XGen, the main hair is done using the Tube Groom tool. I did some research before starting and since I’m new to Maya, I modeled the tubes is Softimage, basically by extruding polys from a low-res scalp model onto spiral curves, which in turn are bent on other curves to allow the tubes to be styled in a controlled manner (I found that you need to put the UVs of the tubes’ base vertices close to 0,0 to make sure that XGen generates the guides in the correct direction). I modeled the tubes this way to make sure there are no overlapping geometry at the base.
Every tube is styled one by one in Softimage. The spirals are parametric throughout so I’ve randomized their length and amount of spins to give a less uniform look. In XGen different modifiers are applied, such as Clumping, Coil, Noise and Cut. Eyebrows and lashes are created in a similar manner , but by manually placing guide curves instead of Tube Grooming.
All textures are hand painted in ZBrush and Photoshop.
The model is rendered with displacement maps in Maya using Vray and for the skin I’m using VraySkinMtl. Colors are edited in Photoshop.
I’ll upload some screens from ZBrush, Softimage and Maya later on.

Thanks for watching! :slight_smile:

Attachments