ZBrushCentral

Any general advices for a beginner?

hi! i’m totally new to digital sculpting, and i am learning as i make this object inspired by archaic heads. it’s my first model ever and each step of the process is a chance for me to learn new concepts and experiment when i get there, sort of.
it’s not finished yet, i’ve been making it for a couple of days and probably tomorrow will start to finalize it, making texture, color, lighting work and all the last bits prior to rendering.
ok, so… i got to 9204480 polys and i can’t seem to divide any further, i have already changed the numbers in the preferences>mem menu, but when i go to dived the mesh poly count zbrush just keep loading and crashes. i will use this object as an instagram AR filter, probably.
my questions are:
is 9200000 a good poly count for an AR asset?
should i divide this mesh further?
how can i smooth all these little waves” that can nee sen all over the mode?
do you have any tips, suggestions or advices for me?
some of these questions might sound silly, but as i said, every concept and step of digital sculpting is new for me… thank you :blush:
image image image

Hi @arturferreira Welcome to ZBrush Central.

Knowing ZBrush has a learning curve and if you want to take advantage of all that it has to offer, it’s a good idea to start at the beginning.

1 Like

Do as @zber2 said. That’s where I started and it was time well spent.

As for not being able to subdivide further, maybe you’ve hit your limit, defined by the memory in your system. Each subdivision increases polycount by 4 so 9M bcomes 36M. Max per subtool is 100M if oyu’ve got enough ram.