ZBrushCentral

WIP: Sculpting a fenestrated (perforated) plant in ZBrush — how would you improve this workflow?

Hi everybody, just joined the community.

I’m still relatively new to ZBrush; jumped into it for the first time last year.

I’m working on a Monstera adansonii vine for part of a scene and… I made a huge mess of it:

PROCESS v01:

1. Vines made in C4D with splines

2. Imported to ZBrush via OBJ (very unfortunate that GoZ no longer works properly with C4D R20 & R21; not even with that new 3rd party plugin someone posted to Github)

3. Made leaves separately in ZBrush (wrote up a whole Reddit post showing trial & error, and effective methods.)

Here’s where everything started going wrong:

1. Thought it’d be a great idea to make my leaves an IMM. Didn’t realize IMM doesn’t store lower subdivs. F.

2. Pulled Curve Tubes out of the main vine for the leaves’ petioles. Then attached the IMM leaves to those. Terrible idea: making & shaping a Curve Tube petiole for so many leaves was a ton of work, so I ended up splitting the 5 different leaf + petiole combos into Subtools anyway and copying those all over the plant. IMM was pointless.

3. Approaching UVs: this is when I saw that I couldn’t go back to lower subdiv for the leaves. Oops. I don’t care that much about nice geometry & UVs for this (it isn’t going to be animated and really no one will ever see them) so a quick auto retopo would have been fine but…

4. That is A LOT of models and I didn’t want to do (or remesh) each individually, especially because there are only 5 base model leaves.

5. Tried merging the whole thing and then everything from Decimation Master to Dynamesh to ZRemesher. None of that worked well; I’m sure you can imagine.

Well… that was a learning experience, I guess. I think I’m going to clean up my geometry and redo the leaf placement entirely.

PROCESS v02: