ZBrushCentral

Sculpting Uniform Ribbing/Piping Around Objects

I’m new to ZBrush and am trying to add uniform consistent rounded ribbing/piping to a smooth surfaced glove model.

I’m using the curve tube brush with shift + left click drag to empty canvas to wrap curve around glove object. I want smooth piping that is evenly spaced, that wraps around the glove. Is the the curve tube brush the best type to achieve this design? I’m having a hard type placing curves adjacent to each other, because the curve that is already laid down tries to connect with the new one I’m trying to place.

I’ve attached a screenshot of what I’m doing and a reference of what I’m trying to achieve.

Is there a way to a add a guide so I can evenly space the curves?

Check Stroke:Curve Modifiers:Snap Distance to adjust snapping of adjacent curves.

For more control over curve placement try duplicating your mesh, slice curve brush to give a clean edge along the required curve trajectory, hide one side of the mesh to expose the clean edge, Stroke:Curve Functions:Frame Mesh Border to create a curve along the border edge, then apply your imm split off the IMM mesh to work with your source mesh.

Search Michael Pavlovich (YT) for Stroke:Frame Mesh fucntionality details.

Thanks for the tip to adjust snapping. I can sculpt curves now adjacent to each other by hand.

I will look into the slice curve brush / mesh border trick.

While looking into Michael Pavlovich’s YT channel I found a stroke function called interpolate. It basically added strokes between to manually drawn curves.

I tried it on a finger of my glove but the pattern was not very clean. Is this a potential way to achieve the piping design I want?

Screenshot 2024-04-20 at 8.00.08 PM

@insultcomicdog

Here is a suggestion.

2024-04-22 07_39_57-ZBrush
2024-04-22 07_44_38-ZBrush
The rest is up to you!

Thank you for the guidance @zber2 .

I understand the part about adding curves to each polyloop.