ZBrushCentral

Help with Subdivision Levels

Hello all,

I am new to Zbrush and I am having some issues with subdivisions. I am also very new to forums too so I apologize if I am not posting this question in the right place.

I am currently following along with a series of Pluralsight videos that teach Zbrush to beginners. Currently we are making a pedestal for a character to stand on.
So far I have sculpted a patch of rocky terrain with no issues. Now I have created the basic geometry of the pedestal itself, which will encase the terrain. — See Picture 1

I want to increase the subdivision levels of the pedestal, and be able to slide between the levels, so I can follow along with the videos, but I can’t seem to do this.

If I press ‘Divide’ under the Geometry Menu I get a result with undesirable topology, the hole becomes filled, and I there are no levels of subdivisions that I can scroll through, no matter how many times I press Divide. — See Picture 2

If I press ‘Higher Res’ a window comes up saying I have no ‘Subdiv Levels’ and asks me if I ‘want to auto-activate Dynamic Subdivide instead?’ — See Picture 3
If I press Yes, ‘Higher res’ becomes greyed out. If I then press Divide I am once again presented with bad topology, a filled hole, and no levels of subdivisions. — See Picture 4

I have no idea why I am having issues with something that I have done easily in the past, but I just cant figure it out. Especially because I am following along with the tutorial step by step and the teacher has none of these issues.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Hello William!

:warning:Be sure to upgrade to the most recent version of Zbrush. This is completely free for registered users, and comes with new features and fixes. Obsolete versions aren’t officially supported.