ZBrushCentral

Displacement map not very actual?

Hi everyone,

I am new to Zbrush.

I am trying to add some high-resolution decoration to a low-poly armor:

I subdivided it, and draw the decorations:

Then I created the displacement map from the lowest resolution:

The result seems… quite bad. What did I do wrong?

I am a newbie so sorry if it’s a stupid question.

Thanks a lot!

Hello @vlalala ,

Be sure to read any available documentation for the ZBrush feature you wish to use.

If you are new to ZBrush, please start here:

http://docs.pixologic.com/getting-started/

Displacement maps generated from high resolution meshes in ZBrush are typically for use outside of the program. ZBrush is capable of rendering polycounts natively that usually make displacement mapping unnecessary.

By default when you switch the “Disp On” button in the Displacement Map menu, the program applies the map as a simple bump effect that will not alter the silhouette of the model no matter how far you turn the intensity up. No actual points are being displaced.

The reason your model looks coarse and blocky is because you are applying a bump effect to low resolution geometry (currently at subdivision level 1) without any kind of smoothing. In most situations in ZBrush you are looking at the actual geometry of the mesh. Real time smoothing effects negatively impact performance at the polycounts being used in ZBrush. Meshes must be subdivided to be smoothed and to increase the level of detail the surface can hold without displaying a faceted appearance.

So in this situation you would need to display a higher level of subdivision for a smoother mesh. However, applying a bump effect from this map to the same higher resolution geometry it was generated from would be redundant. Simply display the higher level of subdivision and dispense with the displacement map.