ZBrushCentral

Confusion Around Exporting and.. What to export

Hello, I’m pretty new to ZBrush so this will probably be a question that’s already on here, but maybe you can help me out. I’m doing some very simple sculpting work on a character’s shoe specifically.

I want to export the low poly mesh, the normal map, and displacement map so I can import that into maya for animation. I’ve done that, but not without having to lose all the chains. This section in particular is quite hard to project with the chain/ zipper… thing.

sdadsadadasv

My question to you all is what would be the best way to tackle this issue.
Do i have to just, project at a higher resolution?
Or do I simply just bring the chains into maya raw?

How do you go about recovering insert multi mesh’s detail from ZBrush to Maya in your own workflow without it being too laggy to animate?

I know in this case it’s only 9k polygons, but that can add up.
In another example I make a rope with around 7million polys. that will for sure crash maya.

ssdasdasdas

Hello @IndigoJarl

This depends on the situation.

Bits like the zipper are fine surface detail without much elevation, and should not be a separate piece for the purposes of displacement export. At some point you want to transition to a mesh where details like this have been fused into a single mesh. The zipper should project onto a new target mesh with sufficient resolution without much trouble. If you’re having trouble getting that done, you should illustrate the problem.