ZBrushCentral

9months in Zbrush and

Hi everyone including Pixelogic. So as you read from the topic. I’m 9months in…from Jan 3rd 2020 to now(Sept 11th). I’ve been on zBrush everyday for 6-8hrs(including weekends)… I’m here because I want to hear you guys/gals experience as a newbie Zbrush artist to a professional pathway career. What kind of steps did you take and how long did it take you to feel confident enough to show your art to others(especially a recruiter)???

Thanks in advance for the feedback everyone. I’ll will show my 1st ever sculpt to now…so you can see how far I’ve improved

So, things are different for me. I am a professional that was working in the industry that started using ZBrush in my workflow many years ago. I tell all artists, it is about the final product and making the client happy, not always the tools that you used to create the product. ZBrush was a godsend when I discovered it, and it is a big part of many of the artists within my two companies’ workflow. However, there is so much more that goes into being a 3D artist. It is the skills to do the job and understand the project.
Like a carpenter building a house, I don’t care if you use DeWalt or Ryobi to build my house, just get it done, make sure it will hold up, and make my home beautiful. LOL!

Now, learning ZBrush is fantastic, but what you do with it is even more critical.

Here is what I would ask if I were interviewing you. This is me, and not everyone will agree.
What is your industry focus? Gaming [Gaming is a whole different set of skills that I am not qualified to talk about.]? Movies, Animation Shorts? Advertising? - Focus is essential, and that is what your portfolio should show, your area of focus.
What is your goto animation program? Maya? C4D? Max? In my studio, I would require that you know Maya and C4D.
What are your rigging skills?
Do you ONLY sculpt?