1. #121
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Hamburg
    Posts
    383

    Default Thank you

    Thanks Gordon, works like a charm. Also "split groups" makes the subtool creation from the groups even faster.
    Last edited by Jake Rupert; 02-14-12 at 01:35 AM.

  2. #122
    Super Moderator User Gallery
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    California
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,221

    Default

    Hey Jake

    You can use the SliceBrush to cut the mesh up. Turn on the Group button in the DynaMesh section. Then re-DynaMesh. This will create two pieces with two polygroups. Now all you have to do is click GroupSplit in the SubTool sub-palette.

    Paul

  3. #123
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Hamburg
    Posts
    383

    Default

    Thank you Paul for your help,

    Brings me a great step further!

  4. #124
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Hamburg
    Posts
    383

    Default bevel edge

    Since I get such good help here, I dare to ask another newbie question:

    Bevel:

    I imported an obj put it to subd level 6 and made groupsplit and now want to start sculpt and polypaint it.

    First I would like to create a bevel like on the longside also for the short side.
    What`s the best method to bevel these edges as smoothly as the others?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	BevelTest.jpg 
Views:	199 
Size:	29.3 KB 
ID:	294894  
    Last edited by Jake Rupert; 02-14-12 at 08:41 AM.

  5. #125
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    135

    Default

    Im stumped with how to move the fibermesh after you hit accept....its always locked to the root and you cant move it. Does anyone know how to fix this? :S

  6. #126
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    On my boat
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,587

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by G-Dub View Post
    Im stumped with how to move the fibermesh after you hit accept....its always locked to the root and you cant move it. Does anyone know how to fix this? :S
    If you are trying to move the whole thing it is a subtool, so you would go into the subtool pallet and select your new object, then use the transpose tools or the deformation pallet to to move them around.

    If you are only trying to move bits of it you would use the Groom Brushes, but it sounds to me like you want to move the whole thing, right?



    Cheers!
    Mealea
    nope...
    I don't know what I'm doing but I'm doing it anyway.

  7. #127
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    135

    Default

    I mean after i hit accept and select it in sub pallet...its like its masked at the root and I can only strech it I cant actualy move it anywhere its locked

  8. #128
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    On my boat
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,587

    Default

    THAT is weird, I just tried it and have the result you have with the transpose tools but Offset in the deformation pallet worked fine (and did not crash so far).
    So it looks like the transpose tool is doing things differently, or in this case wrong(?)

    Ok (a moment later)
    I see what its doing, use the deformation pallet to move the whole thing.
    Use the transpose tools for some fairly serious grooming.

    Try using the rotate and scale transpose tools as well and you will see what I mean, its neat you can make big curls and stuff.
    EDIT: Using the transpose tools like this it seems good to use lots of segments, otherwise things seem to break sort of.

    This is Move and Rotate:


    And with all three; Move, Scale and Rotate:
    Last edited by MealeaYing; 03-04-12 at 11:39 AM.
    nope...
    I don't know what I'm doing but I'm doing it anyway.

  9. #129
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    135

    Default

    Hmmmm but offset wont helpv in say posing a character with hair...it would be impossible to get it exact Ithere should be a way to unlock it i cant believe this isnt in the tutorial....anyway thanks for the help

  10. #130
    Super Moderator User Gallery
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    California
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,221

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by G-Dub View Post
    Im stumped with how to move the fibermesh after you hit accept....its always locked to the root and you cant move it. Does anyone know how to fix this? :S
    The root is automasked so that the fibers stay in position when grooming them. If you want to move them away from the root you need to turn off the auto masking feature in Brush>Auto Masking>Auto Mask Fibers. I would recommend keep this on unless you want to completely move the fibers away.

    Paul

  11. #131
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    135

    Thumbs up

    Awesome thank you so much!

  12. #132
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    On my boat
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,587

    Default

    I agree! Thanks!

    I had hit Clear in the mask pallet thinking that would do the obvious, clear the mask if there was one, I had no idea it would just recreate it self with out asking.
    This is great to know!
    nope...
    I don't know what I'm doing but I'm doing it anyway.

  13. #133
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Metro DC
    Posts
    3

    Default ZSphere rigging Part 4 video yet to come?

    Is there a Part 4 video on rigging with ZSpheres yet to come, or have I just somehow overlooked it in this thread? I would really look forward to seeing it if it exists, as this has proven to be a very helpful and informative series for me.

    Thanks.

  14. #134
    Super Moderator User Gallery
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    California
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,221

    Default Mech Horse

    Hey ZBrushCentral Community

    Here is something I created in ZBrush4R5 using Panel Loops and Polish by Feature. This image was inspired by Syd Mead's Running of the Six DRGXX for the Tokyo International Sports Fair. It was a lot of fun to put together!

    Enjoy, Paul Gaboury




  15. #135
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    3,067

    Default

    Very cool work .....love to see more!

    Best, David
    And so we came forth and once again beheld the stars.
    - William Styron, Darkness Visible


    My New Photography Website:

    Http://davidchalkgraphics.com

Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst ... 6789101112 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •