1. #31
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Age
    37
    Posts
    440

    Default NormanVray

    HI again Norman3D,,

    IT would be super COOL. with Vray support..

    best Daniel

  2. #32
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    166

    Default

    it doesn't work in Max 9.

    it says Doscommand error.

  3. #33
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Thanks for this, and another vote for Final Render MTD connection for displacement map

  4. #34
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Seattle
    Age
    33
    Posts
    111

    Default

    Fantastic! Thanks Norman, I was suffering withdrawals.
    2011 wip thread
    Old wipdump
    sheaspina.com -- 20thVariant.com
    livestream
    Quintessential starving artist
    info@sheaspina.com

  5. #35

    Cool Possible Smoothing Group option for GoMax?

    just wanted to upload a working version of the smooth group import plugin for Zbrush 4 so hopefully it can get included as an option for GoMax.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #36
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Looking for a link in between Zbrush and max/vray as well.

    It is just a drag to go through all the renderer settings everytime you send your model, AA, GI, samples, render elements, re-applying the materials ...

    I know an answer is model first, shader setup after ... but come on, if you work in the industry you know how we are led to go back and forth in between both pretty usually.

    Googling it would have been a faster answer but : yes, the last final render version is out now R3.5 SP3 (compatible with the once again disappointing Max 2012). Check cebas website for more info

  7. #37
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    838

    Default

    First off, awesome tool!

    I have a lot less issues with this over GoZ with max.

    I have one suggestion though.

    (Unless I am totally missing something) Could you add an option for the Max > zbrush workflow where material libraries are exported by default?

    Currently matids/polygroups are not imported from max to zbrush because you have them turned off by default when the mesh is exported out of max.

    Kind of a hassle to have to turn them on manually every time I wanna export something.

    Thanks,
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mat.jpg 
Views:	139 
Size:	143.4 KB 
ID:	252381  
    Last edited by --E--; 05-13-11 at 05:46 PM.

  8. #38
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    838

    Default

    Also, it looks like the option to export polygroups from zbrush > max is grayed out? Why is that?

    It appears the script is auto turning off "tool > export > grp" in zbrush which prevents polygroups from being exported out of zbrush.

    Is it possible to turn this on?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	polygroup.jpg 
Views:	113 
Size:	147.9 KB 
ID:	252384   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	grp.jpg 
Views:	106 
Size:	55.9 KB 
ID:	252385  

  9. #39
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Age
    25
    Posts
    388

    Default

    Hey E!
    The reason why polygroup is grayed out is because I never got to implement support for polygroups.
    Here is the "problem" with exporting polygroups from Zbrush to 3dsMax.
    When you export your mesh with the polygroups, and import it in 3dsMax you will realize that the mesh has been split into pieces, different meshes. At this point the mesh is broken, the vertex IDs are renumbered and don't match the original one, even if I merged them back together automatically.
    There are a couple of ways around this, but it would not be pretty and only work some of the time.

    As far as I know GoZ uses a whole different method. I'm simply exporting my mesh as an obj, whereas GoZ is exporting in a GoZ format, which is able to support polygroups nicely.

    So, unfortunately GoMax won't be supporting polygroups any time soon. You'll have to use GoZ, which I'm sure will keep improving. Sorry. :/

  10. #40
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hi Norman3d,

    Do you plan to update Gomax to work with Zbrush4R2?

    I tried testing it with Max 2012 and Zbrush4R2 but can't seem to make a connection. Hopefully this would be a minimal thing to fix.

    Thank you

  11. #41
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Correction - GoMax does work Zbrush 4R2, I forgot to re-install GoMax and point it to the Zbrush 4R2 folder. Works just as before now.

  12. #42
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Mebane, NC
    Posts
    3,040

    Default Does it work with

    Can it work with Autodesk 3ds Max 8?, Please, I hope

  13. #43
    Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    52

    Default

    I also need VRAY support!!!!

    thanks!

  14. #44
    Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Nyköping, Sweden
    Age
    42
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Yes a way to make max use a specific .max file would be great to make every user of 3rd part renderers happy.
    Until then. save your render settings so you can load them.

  15. #45

    Default

    Hi, I'm having this problem everytime i try to export or import. >.<


Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •