1. #1
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Age
    25
    Posts
    388

    Default GoMax for ZBrush 4

    banner22.jpg

    Hey guys!

    I opened a new thread for the ZBrush 4 compatible version of GoMax.

    I originally didn't plan to keep working on this, but people were asking me lately to at least make it ZB4 compatible, so here it is! It's still working for 3.5 R3, in case some of you are stuck in that version!

    Here are a couple of features:

    -Matcap export
    -Diffuse/NormalMap/DispMap export
    -Standard,DirectX and MentalRay materials
    -Might fix scale problems with ZBrush "ExportScale"
    -Noticeable faster than GoZ in some cases
    (If you have a Ztl with multiple subtools, but you only want to export one, GoZ goes through all the subtools in the subtools before exporting it, this takes quite a lot, specially if you have a lot of subtools)
    -3dsmax 9 to 3dsMax 2011 support
    -Option to export 1st subdivision of all subtools
    -Option to Disable Turbo/MeshSmooth when exporting from 3dsMax to Zbrush
    -Option to import meshes to Zbrush into 1st subdivision automatically
    -When exporting new subtools from 3dsMax to Zbrush, they will be automatically appended to the current Ztool, if any selected.


    Here is a link to the latest version:

    DOWNLOAD
    (It will automatically update if there is a new version)



    And here is a link to the old thread:

    Old GoMax Thread

    Install instructions:

    Download the mzp file and drag and drop it on your 3dsMax viewport. If no window pops up, click on Maxscript/Run script and select the mzp file.
    Some internet browsers rename the mzp files to zip files. So make sure your mzp file is still a mzp file after downloading



    And finally, is there any request from you guys? Any little thing that might be helpful for your workflow?

  2. #2
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    122

    Default

    Just wanted to double check: Is smoothing group/creasing data respected?

    (Because that is HUGE for me.)

  3. #3
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Age
    25
    Posts
    388

    Default

    hmmm actually I need to double check on that one, but I suspect the answer is no.

    I think smoothing groups were only respected in the past with the SmoothingGroupImport plugin, am I right?
    Is this still the case? Actually, is there such plugin for Zbrush 4 already?

    If so, I might be able to make an option that uses that plugin to import the objs... if not, I'll have to wait for the plugin to be released first.

    But it's a good question, I totally forgot about smoothing groups...

  4. #4
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Hamburg
    Posts
    805

    Default

    cool that this is still in development...great norman

  5. #5
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    122

    Default

    As far as I know, you are correct: smoothing groups were only respected via the import plugin.

    I don't see the plugin as being updated for ZB4.

  6. #6

    Default

    I actually downloaded it ... I thought you would stop working on it ... but it's still one useful plugin ... even with GOZ around ... many thanx ... you actually make things move in the right direction ...

  7. #7

    Default

    Go max helps me to save a lot of time, I wanted to thank you for this!

  8. #8
    Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Age
    41
    Posts
    59

    Default

    thank you
    Art is base on presuppositions.

  9. #9
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Germany/Netherland
    Age
    39
    Posts
    247

    Default

    oh man! Thatīs brilliant!!!! You made my day! Thanks a lot for your work!!! For me GoMAX is the most usefull tool for Zbrush.
    Thank you!!!
    Kind regards
    Hilmar

  10. #10
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks

  11. #11
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Germany/Netherland
    Age
    39
    Posts
    247

    Default

    uh... but this time it dosnīt work. In Version MAX2009 and 2010. Max just give me the note " awaiting Zbrush Export to finish" for ages.

    Think I have to go back to version Z3.5+GoMAX1

  12. #12
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Age
    37
    Posts
    440

    Default bug?

    possible a bug.-- gomax only takes the half of the matcap when export to max 2011
    i've have only matcap and subtools turned on--her is a screen shot

    Untitled-1.jpg

  13. #13
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    51
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Uhhh what a great thing!
    Thanx a lot for the work!
    Is it possible to export from ZBrush to Vray in Max?
    who is not able what he wants must want what he is able to do.
    Leonardo DaVinci

  14. #14

    Default

    yeah exporting from zbrush and being able to choose correct settings for a variety of render would be cool ... I'd say ... vray ... and maybe final render ... I think final render do a few things better than vray ...

  15. #15
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Age
    51
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Yes that would be very nice!
    Is the new Version of Final Render for 3ds Max out?
    who is not able what he wants must want what he is able to do.
    Leonardo DaVinci

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •