Senior Member Follow User Gallery

Default MaCrea - Material Creation Tool

MaCrea
    v0.10

MaCrea is a little material creation tool I wrote for use with Sculptris, while it simply creates material sphere images that can be used with Zbrush or any other App that takes advantage of that idea.

macrea010_snapshot.jpg

Here's a little introduction video...
    http://www.vimeo.com/14030320

And a toon- or celshading example...
    http://www.vimeo.com/14033777

It's a free little tool I'm still developing right now, but you should be able to have some productive fun with it already. If you have any questions AFTER watching the video and playing around with it for a moment, please, feel free to ask away!

Great stuff! Thanks!!!

That looks brilliant Taron!
    I just started playing but I already like the intuitive GUI-Controls.
    Thanks a lot for your generous sharing!

Thanks guys! I guess at this point it's still managable with the amount of parameters. I'll try to keep it that way, but I already have some ideas for making it a bit more visual.

Anyway, I've just noticed that appearantly only Zbrush doesn't like the png format I'm saving and I have no idea, yet, what it wants. I'd respectfully ask pixologic to consider a more complete implementation of the png format, at least in regards to loading, but in the meantime you'll have to run your material images through photoshop or some other app for converting them into jpg, tiff or what ever else Zbrush loads as textures. It caught me really be surprise, too.

Sculptris, FrameCycler, Photoshop, AfterFX and even messiah:Studio have no troubles loading them and those are only the Apps I've tested with them. Just as a little reassurance that the png format I'm saving is really ordinary.

Again, thanks for the quick response already and I'm happy about every bit of feedback!

Member Follow User Gallery

fast and intuitive, thank you.

UPDATED to version 0.10b