1. #1
    Super Moderator Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    20,827

    Default ZAppLink - Information, Installation and FAQ

    ZAppLink


    ZAppLink is a free plug-in that extends and enhances ZBrush***8217;s texturing and illustration capabilities by automating the connection with programs such as Photoshop, Painter, or Illustrator.

    ZAppLink works with click-button ease and continues Pixologic***8217;s commitment to providing innovative tools to support next generation artists forging the work of tomorrow.

    Modeler and texture artist, Caroline Delen, says, ***8220;The ZAppLink is an excellent addition making it possible to project photographic reference or any painting directly onto your ZBrush viewport through Photoshop and has definitely become an important part of my workflow.***8221;

    Leigh van der Byl, Texture Artist at Cafe FX, says "ZAppLink is a fantastic feature that has helped to make my Photoshop/Zbrush texturing workflow more efficient and intuitive. It's a must-have tool. Pixologic is taking what is often an unintuitive, bothersome process and making it more accessible to artists who just want to get straight to the creative parts of texturing."

    For a view of ZApp Link's abilities visit Caroline Delen's Artist in Action post here.


    ________________________________________

    This plugin is available with ZBrush 4R6.

    ________________________________________

    Installation

    The plugin is automatically installed with the standard installation of ZBrush.

    ________________________________________

    Frequently Ask Questions

    Q: I don't see ZAppLink in the Document palette.
    A: If you did a custom install of ZBrush then run the installer again and make sure you install the ZAppLink plugin.

    2010 Pixologic, Inc. All rights reserved, Pixologic and the Pixologic logo, ZBrush, and the ZBrush logo are registered trademarks of Pixologic. Various patents pending. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.


    Last edited by marcus_civis; 05-23-14 at 08:25 AM.

  2. #2
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Age
    40
    Posts
    12

    Thumbs down ZappLink

    But doesnt work on macosx with Photshop. If press any key or "enter" or "esc", close dialog box in Zbrush.

  3. #3
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default Zapplink needs an udate to work with 4r4

    Sorry for the double post.
    Last edited by tbriggs; 07-26-12 at 10:10 PM.

  4. #4
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default Zapplink needs an update to work with 4r4

    I just loaded 4R4 - Zapplink 4.0 does not work, needs an update

  5. #5
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default ZAppLink problem

    hi,when i import the texture from photoshop to Zbrush via ZAppLink,it shows a dialogue box that says New Layer,Delete Layer,Layer with blend alpha,i click any one option then it shows "pick" dialogue box,when i click the pick button the texture is not on the object.(face).
    When i do simple brush stocks with in the face(not outside of the face) in photoshop it gives best results in Zbrush.
    what is the problem?can any 1 guys help me.
    am texturing a face just shown in youtube videos.
    thx

  6. #6
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default Awaiting an update for Zapplink on Windows 7

    Any news on an update? Having trouble using ZAppLink with 4R5 and CS4 on Windows 7. Thanks!

  7. #7
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    25

    Default ZAppLink doesn't pick up changes

    ZAppLink sends projection to PhotoShop (CC x64), I tweak it, save and re-enter ZBrush. I see my changes in "preview" mode, but after some flickering (presumably process of applying my changes to existing polypainted stuff) changes disappear and tool looks exactly like it was before.

    I only found very old thread with similar issues and those were caused by misplaced files.
    To verify, I have ZAppLink_4R6.zsc and ZAppLinkData_4.0 inside \Pixologic\ZBrush 4R6\ZStartup\ZPlugs folder.

  8. #8
    Moderator Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,748

    Default

    What material have you selected? ZAppLink will not work with the Flat Color material applied to the model. Also, sometimes surface noise (applied through the Tool>Surface sub-palette) will hide the polypaint.

    If that doesn't help then perhaps you can upload your ZBrush project to Dropbox or www.wetransfer.com so that I can take a look and try to find what is wrong.

    Edit: also this thread may help:
    http://www.zbrushcentral.com/showthr...ything-up-HELP

    Thanks,
    Last edited by marcus_civis; 06-25-14 at 04:52 AM. Reason: Added link

  9. #9
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    25

    Thumbs up

    Thanks a lot, Marcus. It was FlatColor material.

  10. #10
    Moderator Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dimwalker
    Thanks a lot, Marcus. It was FlatColor material.
    Great, thanks for letting me know.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •