ZBrushCentral

Grot's zsphere sketches

Hey all, I’m fairly new to this zbrush lark but I’m pretty taken with zsphereII sketching. Didn’t want to clutter up other people threads to I’m starting this one.

I can’t seem to bring myself to actually skulpt on my sketches, I love the style of the zsheres just a bit too much:D

Anyway, let me know what you think.

Todays effort:

soldner1 front.jpg

Attachments

soldner1 back.jpg

You say you are new, that is a great fist post. That i a sweet character ,I wanna see the mesh.

I know what you mean about the spheres though they look way cool

:smiley:

that looks great! I suppose you could learn a fair bit about aesthetics from the zsphere sketches - i.e. analyze why they look cool (they do!), I think it has quite a bit to do with form separation and curvature hinting (via. the patterned lines). Maybe you could start your sculpting by trying to replicate some of those principles, starting with form definition. You might find something that looks even cooler :wink:

One of the best efforts I’ve seen so far. :+1:

Thanks for the positive responses! :smiley:

I was really struggling with 3.1, seemed like I would spend hours fiddling around and make very little progress, but these swanky new zspheres (creating an armature then filling out the form) is much more similar to what I used to do when I did stop-mo animation and had to make puppets for that.

Super-glitcher: I totally see what you are saying about aesthetics, I’m definatley going to keep it in mind when I do eventually start sculpting.

Anyway, its not finished (the pilot’s not done and theres some bits that need tweeking) but I have savage lazy-mouse cramp so I have to call it a day, hopefully finish it off tomorrow. Here is my zsketch for today:

dirigible side 1.jpg

Attachments

dirigible front 1.jpg

dirigible closeup 1.jpg

dirigible closeup 2.jpg

YEAH! ZSpheres 2 full throttle…gr8 work :+1: