ZBrushCentral

Feather Challenge

Hello all,

After having seen the Lord of the Rings Eagles I began trying to replicate the feathers (any) feathers and wow is it tough for me. I have been using several programs to create a complete Tail feather set of bird feathers, yet am not satisfied with a believable feather.

I have been collecting feather textures for 6 years now (multiple species) and have perhaps one of the greatest texture libraries around.

Here is the challenge create the full tail of a bird. Tail feathers (6 each side) shouls be separate from the other, detailing the quill, fletch and texture the sculpts to the proper species.

Texture them and post the ZTLs, OBJs for all to share and to the winner goes my 6 year feather texture collection (1.2 Gigs worth)

Base meshes can be shared (encouraged) and please pay attention to the profile as well as the left and right side curves with coresponding textuire shifts. Please do not split the fletch as this tends to look Trashy or shabby a split here and there is acceptable – most birds are well groomed.

The Post will run for at least 1 month and who knows maybe a lot longer. I would love for all of us to have a mini feather library. Good luck and I am eager to see you pull this one off! :+1:

Here are a few examples of tail feathers.

aaasingle.jpg

Attachments

RT_tail_immature.jpg

tail_RT.jpg

11_MixedFan-Frt.jpg

FTHRs_6shamrock.jpg

FTHRs_Buffons.jpg

kestrel_9.jpg

wingwitt%20104%20Oriole%20feather%20on%20black%20&%20white.jpg

flipped.jpg

arapahoe.jpg

esparrowhawk-t.jpg

f4_3.jpg

banksian%20cokatoo.jpg

1 Like

Wow that´s one impressive collection of feathers you have! :eek: The first price in your challenge is a fine price for sure. I have no idea how to make bird feathers but I´ll give it a try :smiley: Good way to learn more of zbrush.

Eonsuu,

I tried some last night and had a good start with a thin cylinder layed sideways