ZBrushCentral

LineMask-plugin as an alternative to Topological Masking?

LineMask-plugin as an alternative to Topological Masking?

I really like to use the Transform: Move, Scale, Rotate possibilities of ZB3 in my (re)modeling.
But the kind of meshes I use do not seem to be compatible with the new Topological
Masking that is introduced in ZB3, which makes using the Transform-mode very clumsy to use for me.

So I started thinking about an alternative for the Topological Masking, and I found a very intuitive one: just define the area that is to be masked by drawing one or two closed masklines (Control+ LMB) in the usual way in the Draw-mode:

snagit pijlvoor1.JPG

“Sim Sala Bim!”, they say in my country when the magic trick succeeds!
However, I’m not a ZScripter, but from my general experience as a programmer I could make a pseudo-code
version of the algorithm, that should do this trick.

To understand this algorithm:
I presume that ZB defines the points of the 3d-space in some sort of (x,y,z)manner.
So that every actual point can be a point on the mesh or not:
(mesh(xAct,yAct,zAct)=true or mesh(xAct,yAct,zAct)=false).
Likewise I presume that every actual point can be a masked
meshpoint(xAct,yAct,zAct)
or not :frowning: mask(xAct,yAct,zAct)=true or mask(xAct,yAct,zAct)=false)
At last I presume that there exists a Button:“LineMask” in the Tool>Masking pallet, which must be pressed before a LMB-click will start the Main Subroutine:

----------------------------------------------------------------------START PSEUDOCODE:

Sub Main
Dim xAct,yAct,zAct
'Comment: This subroutine recurses until all the nabouring meshpoints from
’ the point where LMB was clicked are masked.
’ If before the ButtonEvent:“LineMask” the user has drawn two closed
’ masklines then the masking will only occupy the area within the lines.
’ If before the ButtonEvent:“LineMask” the user has drawn one closed
’ maskline then the masking will only occupy the area on the site of this line