Default Kraken WIP and a dozen or so questions...

So here's my first near-finished model ever. Huge thanks go out to Scott Spencer (my teacher at Gnomon) and the assorted guys from Gentle Giant that are students in my class. C & C welcome, please be honest, as this will hopefully be the beginning of a reel for me. Please bear in mind I have no traditional art background, neither in sculpting nor painting. My background is in drafting, engineering and architecture. Hooray me, 36 and trying to find my inner artist, I never would have guessed I'd even try. Oh, and questions on ZBrush follow the images...

KrakenFrontForZBC.jpg

KrakenPerspForZBC.jpg

KrakenEyesForZBC.jpg

KrakenBackPerspForZBC.jpg

And now on to the questions...

materials questions:

First off, let me say I am a complete newb when it comes to materials. I have some practice with sculpting and now also a little bit with painting, but less than 1 day with materials.

The wiki says to use the 'bake' button to lock down different materials into the flat shader (I read the wiki first, I promise!). So to try this, I have assigned different materials to different groups (not subtools). Toy plastic for the fangs/eyes, material 43 from material pack 2 for the skin. I hide all but the parts I want to change material on, set it so that only Material button is on, and click fill under the color palatte. Then I hide the opposite parts, and change material, and click fill again. Everything appears how I want it now. I did not modify any of the materials at all. I then hit 'bake', and all still looks good. I save the tool, close zbrush, reopen, load tool, and everything is toy plastic (not what I want). I try it again, set materials to different parts, bake, save, close, reopen, load tool, and the eyes/teeth are toy plastic like I want, but the skin is red wax shader. Super confused here, any help? I'm obviously missing a step.