1. #16
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    196

    Default

    Right, so there is the eight step way of selecting and there is the normal single click method. Unless I'm missing something here.
    '===
    (@o o@
    \ -/
    If the wise man doesn't approve; bad.
    If the simpleton applauds; worse




  2. #17
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Pinellas Park FL
    Posts
    2,063

    Default

    just different ways of doing the same thing, dogbone. More than one way to skin a cat, as they say. As I said when I posted this, it's probably old news and not something everyone is interested in. If you figured out the one click thing, then go ahead and use it. I fumbled around trying to hide polys til I was frustrated. This just was a happy accident for me and I wanted to share it.

  3. #18
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Pinellas Park FL
    Posts
    2,063

    Default Another interesting discovery

    Another thing I just realized is that I can have 2 instances of ZBrush open at once. That way I can run a script in one window and try each step for myself in the other. Or have an object open in window 1 and another in window 2 and both are editable and rotatable, etc. That way I can use one for reference while working on the other and still be able to view it from all sides and angles. Of course, this probably won't be helpful with very high poly objects, but it's still a cool idea and works just fine with zscripts.

    I just hit Tab to hide the floating menus and collapse the shelves. Right clicking in the doc window pulls up the quick menu for most features.

  4. #19
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    clarksville Tennessee
    Age
    54
    Posts
    6,810

    Default

    good tips, Brian.
    Ron
    catfishmn@aol.com

  5. #20
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Manhattan, New Yotk
    Posts
    4,494

    Default

    You can also have Photoshop/Image editor and ZBrush open. And if you edit a texture in PS and save the image, it's automatically updated in ZBrush. No need to reload. Only thing to consider is the fact that both apps use the same memory.
    Lemo

  6. #21
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Pinellas Park FL
    Posts
    2,063

    Default

    HI RON!!!!!!!!!!

  7. #22
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    16

    Default im having trouble

    understanding it. seems simple. but my stuff here doesnt want to isolate the polygroup. i keep control+ shift+left clicking like this thing says and nothing doing. im new to this program. just got it for christmas from my fiance. he knows how much i love drawing and all. so i thought y not try using it. lol.

    anymew ive done all the methods here and its not doing a thing. maybe a restep back to how to isolate polygroups might help. since i think my program isnt getting what im saying.

  8. #23

    Default

    What happens when you ctrl-shift left click a polygroup and NOTHING HAPPENS? I have that happen sometimes and no idea what I am doing wrong. Are there other things that can be set or active that would prevent that from working?

    Aside from restarting ZBrush, which I am going to try next.

  9. #24

    Default

    I am really enjoying the tips for improving my Zbrush's skill. I will make practice on remembering these. So these tips must help me a lot.

  10. #25
    Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    42

    Thumbs up

    thanks for the short introduction for selecting polygroups

    I should start to use them much more than subtools and could need some little obvious advises like this XD

    Sure, it would be faster to deselect the muzzle and the head and just invert.
    But for a beginner, it wouldn't be bad to click some more times, just to get used to the workflow.

  11. #26
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    5

    Default Separate Polygroups in Coat and Avatar. Recovery of hidden polygroups, later?

    I too have a situation where I need to hide polygroups, but in my situation the polygroups are in the coat and in the Avatar model. My dilemma is, if separately hidden, once I finish manipulating the model, how do I get all of the Polygroups back so I can group again, say the Coat and put it into a new group and manipulate that?
    After all this I would like to Remesh these, since Marvelous Designer has an interesting way of meshing in Quads.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ZBrush ScreenGrab03.jpg 
Views:	47 
Size:	502.9 KB 
ID:	584763  

  12. #27
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Qc City
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I would suggest this :

    1. Ctrl+Shift+Leftclick on 1st Polygroup (Isolate Polygroup)
    2. Ctrl+Leftclick-drag 1st Polygroup (Mask)
    3. Ctrl+Shift+ Leftclick Outside (Unhide all)

    +Repeat for 2nd Desired Polygroup

    Then you can play with Invert/Hide/Show Mask to easily isolate Polygroups, re-assign them/Split to Subtool, etc.

    Also this way if you have a lot of Polygroups, you wouldn't have to select each one by one like mentionned
    Guillaume LachanceArtStation / Instagram / Twitch

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •