1. #31
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    In the Ozone
    Posts
    2,280

    Default

    I have no doubt that you will get the hang of it with practice, even finding out what not to do is part of the learning.

    Ps When you make a morph it's just a direct translation, there is no rotation
    Is that possible ?
    I will have to check when I get home, but 99.9% sure that Morph will indeed Rotate the object as it goes along.

    To test this

    1. create a curve
    2. Press MS to store the Morph Start
    3. Use the Gyro to Rotate your curve
    4. Press ME to Store the Morph End
    5. Press Morph

    Check to see if the Morph rotates from your starting Position to your ending position.

    Note: Using the Gyro to rotate will sometimes encounter the old Gyro Lock that we know so well, so the Rotation may or may not be exactly how you planned it.

    Hope this helps!

  2. #32
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    France
    Posts
    14,322

    Talking You right :)

    The morph rotate and translate between 2 curves
    I progress
    A little thing that I don't find is a button "preview" ???
    You talk about it in the tut... but...where is that ?
    Training continue...

    Just a thing :using the Gyro with a curve has "block" the cursor & the program
    There is not a variable in rotation who overpass a limit ?
    If that arrive again I will try to make the same drawing for help you to find the bug

    Pilou
    Ps You have not project to "mark' each morph during a morphing for obtain a Multimarekrers ?
    Last edited by Frenchy Pilou; 09-22-05 at 02:13 PM.
    Is beautiful that please without concept! ( Me and maybe also E Kant)
    Pilou's Galerie Pilou's Tips Tuts Page
    Cameyo's ZPlace Art Surfing Albums
    Dedicaces Perpetual Challenges

  3. #33
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    In the Ozone
    Posts
    2,280

    Default

    A little thing that I don't find is a button "preview" ???
    You talk about it in the tut... but...where is that ?
    Just hit the 'a' key to turn preview on so you can see the mesh, this is the standard shortcut key for Zbrush, I did not program that into my script.

    Just a thing :using the Gyro with a curve has "block" the cursor & the program
    not sure what you mean by "block" ???

    There is not a variable in rotation who overpass a limit ?
    If that arrive again I will try to make the same drawing for help you to find the bug
    I have tried to come up with code to overcome Gyro Lock but my brain isn't big enough

    Ps You have not project to "mark' each morph during a morphing for obtain a Multimarekrers ?
    Since each curve has it's origin at the start of the mesh and not in the center I did not include this feature because alot of times the markers would overwrite the previous. If you want to multimarker some curves, convert each curve to a polymesh first, then use the TOOLSEFORMATION:UNIFY button to move the Pivot Point to the Center. Since this also rescales the mesh you would also have to scale it back to the correct size.

    Great questions, thanks Frenchy

    It might help to memorize the 4 laws of ZCurve

    1. Create a Start point for your curve. (S-SP)
    2. Create a End Point for your Curve. (S-EP)
    3. Press the Create Button
    4. Use the Navigation Panel in Conjunction with the Sel-SP, Sel-CP1, Sel-CP2, and/or Sel-EP switches to modify the curve in Realtime.

    Note: If you drop out of Edit mode with your curve to select another tool etc... Just press the Create button again and the script will re-create the curve as you last left it. In this case you don't have to go thru steps 1 and 2 again. In fact, after you create a curve just keep moving/modifying and snapshotting the same curve over and over if you want to.
    Last edited by Digits; 09-22-05 at 02:54 PM.

  4. #34
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    France
    Posts
    14,322

    Default For me block = crash :)

    That's arrive on time again with only use buttons Morph Me Ms & Swap
    Crash the prog but not the system !
    Ctrl + Alt + Del help me in this appening

    Thx for take the time to aswer

    Just a last wish : is not possible to enable a button (one's more but useful) for the "SnapShot" ?
    Because make Shift + S after each drawing is some painful !
    (press the button Snapshot with the mouse also )

    I am very slow minding & progress slowly
    I attack lesson 3 indeep
    Last edited by Frenchy Pilou; 09-22-05 at 03:18 PM.
    Is beautiful that please without concept! ( Me and maybe also E Kant)
    Pilou's Galerie Pilou's Tips Tuts Page
    Cameyo's ZPlace Art Surfing Albums
    Dedicaces Perpetual Challenges

  5. #35
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    In the Ozone
    Posts
    2,280

    Default

    After thinking a bit about Frenchy's feedback I thought it might help to explain a bit about how ZCurve works.

    Basically, the script allows you to control 4 points on the canvas, the Start, End, Control Point 1, and Control Point 2. The location of these points on the canvas are shown in the sliders for each point. When you press "Create" the script creates a Zsphere chain that starts at the Start Point and Ends at the End Point. The 2 control points act as magnets on the Zsphere chain to bend them. When you use the controls to Move, Rotate, Flip or modify one or all of the 4 control points the script is actually moving/Rotating/Flipping/changing these 4 points on the canvas, then the Zsphere chain is redrawn using the new information.

    If you have used any 2D drawing packages that have Bezier Curves you should be able to relate to the handles that they use so that you can bend the line around. It is the same principle that Zcurve uses it 4 control points to do except the only visible indication you have to see what you are doing is the curve itself. Also, unlike those 2D drawing packages with ZCurve you can create curves in 3D space.

    Hope this helps those of you that are having trouble, I wish I were a better instructor. Questions help alot.

  6. #36
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    France
    Posts
    14,322

    Talking Damned ...

    You have missed my last wish

    Just a last wish : is not possible to enable a button (one's more but useful) for the "SnapShot" ?
    Because make Shift + S after each drawing is some painful !
    (press the button Snapshot with the mouse also )

    Maybe a "take back" after a morph will be fine

    Of course yes I undertand the Bezier curves or similar but it's the succession of stages and input who are some perturbating and hard to memorize

    And the Control Point 1 has x2 y2 z2
    And the Control Point 2 has x3 y3 z3
    Some names pertubating too
    Maybe Start Point 0 must have x0 y0 z0 etc ...for a rationnal point of view

    I persevere

    Ps Is the button "clear" reset all things ?
    because when I push it and make "Create" curve keeps some old points ?
    There is not an automatic resize start ?
    Last curve seems no refresh !
    Last edited by Frenchy Pilou; 09-22-05 at 04:12 PM.
    Is beautiful that please without concept! ( Me and maybe also E Kant)
    Pilou's Galerie Pilou's Tips Tuts Page
    Cameyo's ZPlace Art Surfing Albums
    Dedicaces Perpetual Challenges

  7. #37
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    In the Ozone
    Posts
    2,280

    Default

    Just a last wish : is not possible to enable a button (one's more but useful) for the "SnapShot" ?
    Because make Shift + S after each drawing is some painful !
    (press the button Snapshot with the mouse also )
    I can do that, thou there are sometimes where you will have to remember to turn it off, as when you are adjusting. But it would be a fine feature.

    Maybe a "take back" after a morph will be fine
    What I do is get out of Edit Mode and press CTRL Z to undo the last operation. Then to get back to Zcurvin I press Create again to get my Curve back.

    And the Control Point 1 has x2 y2z 2
    And the Control Point 2 has x3 y3z 3
    Some names pertubating too
    Maybe Start Point must have x0 y0 z0 etc ...for a rationnal point of view
    I have named them X0,Y0,Z0, (start) X1,Y1,Z1 (CP1) X2 Y2 Z2 (CP2) and X3,Y3,Z3 (End). I will make them 1 thru 4 if it will make it more clear.


    Ps Is the button "clear" reset all things ?
    The Clear in the Control menu only clears the current layer. All your Curve Settings will remain as they were as well as any other layers in your image.

    Thanks again for your feedback

  8. #38
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    France
    Posts
    14,322

    Wink last thing for this day :)

    In your tut number 6 the cursor of the learning teacher seems distroy !
    On my screen it's a white square + the arrow inside !
    Is that normal?

    So I begin to see how all works
    In some days no doubt that this crazzy script will not have no secret for me but it's not so easy to manage all functions in a same overview
    Zen is necessary

    Pilou
    Ps
    Nothing to do for automatic textures ?
    Is beautiful that please without concept! ( Me and maybe also E Kant)
    Pilou's Galerie Pilou's Tips Tuts Page
    Cameyo's ZPlace Art Surfing Albums
    Dedicaces Perpetual Challenges

  9. #39
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    In the Ozone
    Posts
    2,280

    Default

    Ah! the crazy white square. I used a program called Wink to make the tutorials and that is what it does to the onscreen cursor when it rendered the flash file. Perhaps there is a way to fix it?

    Yes, grasshopper Zen would surely help us all.

    p.s. Yes, textures is already in the next release.

    Here is a quick an dirty example using textures

    curve8a.JPG
    Last edited by Digits; 09-22-05 at 06:26 PM.

  10. #40
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    France
    Posts
    14,322

    Talking Early Beginnings :)

    Very cool textures Digits
    aa.jpg

    Pilou
    ps
    Form is Zcurve, Clouds is Texture reflect 4, Frame is not Zb
    I am started
    What adventures game exploration !
    Pss
    Any chance that you input the six movements on the numeric key Board ? (another choice)
    (Cameyo's Zplace habit
    Because clicking mouse is another time painful

    Psss
    Just trying to "Mark" some curves with M during a Zcurve session
    Recalling the Multi Markers
    That works fine if I go out from the Edit mode : That's very cool
    Refound the Copy / Past using The MM & Gyro
    = Ctrl + Shift : Shift release --> use the Gyro + Click (Ctrl always pressed
    What a pianist
    Last edited by Frenchy Pilou; 09-23-05 at 02:27 AM.
    Is beautiful that please without concept! ( Me and maybe also E Kant)
    Pilou's Galerie Pilou's Tips Tuts Page
    Cameyo's ZPlace Art Surfing Albums
    Dedicaces Perpetual Challenges

  11. #41
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    In the Ozone
    Posts
    2,280

    Default

    Wow Frenchy, I think I hear the drums. Very african feel to your image. Sounds like you are getting the feel of things. Really cool to see some Zcurvin goin on. You are giving me some good ideas to make the script better and easier to use, thanks buddy!

  12. #42
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    France
    Posts
    14,322

    Default After some try...

    ...this script is some funny
    Why not put the Size - on the left & the Size + on the right?
    Waiting the texture

    aa.jpg

    Forms are Zcurve, frame is not Zb
    Last edited by Frenchy Pilou; 09-25-05 at 07:31 PM.
    Is beautiful that please without concept! ( Me and maybe also E Kant)
    Pilou's Galerie Pilou's Tips Tuts Page
    Cameyo's ZPlace Art Surfing Albums
    Dedicaces Perpetual Challenges

  13. #43
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    In the Ozone
    Posts
    2,280

    Default ZCurve Version 4.3

    ZCURVE VERSION 4.3 UPDATE 9/26/05


    This last one has a aquatic feel to it.

    Been really busy, so I haven't finished any documentation for the new version with some of your suggestions. But to get you going here it is.

    You will have to replace the contents of your ZCurve_4 folder with the files in the Zipfile.

    To use the Texture feature.

    1. Select the Texture you want to use in the Texture Palette
    2. Press the TEX button. Every curve will now be assigned this texture.
    3. When you want to change textures, select the new Texture and press TEX again.
    4. When you don't want a Texture, select No Texture in the Texture palette and press TEX.

    To use the Snap function
    1. Turn Snap On
    2. This will automatically snapshot the curve to the canvas after every modification.
    3. Turn Snap Off when done.







    Thanks again for your help Frenchy, I appreciate it.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Digits; 09-27-05 at 08:40 AM.

  14. #44

  15. #45
    Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Great tool! I think I have it figured out for the most part. My only problem is I can not seem to change the number of morph iterations. It is locked on "2". Is there a button somewhere to unlock it?

    Thanks.

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •