ZBrushCentral

Suitability of ZBrush for organic sculptures to be CNC carved

I’m new to zbrush but stumbled across the site while searching for a 3d tool that would be suitable for producing 3d models from which to create ceramic tile molds.

We have CAM software that can take 3d models such as 3ds, dxf and stl formats and we can generate the code that will allow us to feed to our CNC machine and thus make an actual model of the drawing.

For us, our work is really a blend between full 3d and 2.5d in that we have high reliefs but the back is always just a flat plane (the back of the tile).

We have evaluated other 3d tools but they all seem weak in their ability to add a lot of the really organic details. ZBrush’s discussion of hand carving tools and some of the models I found posted gave me hope that ZBrush might be able to do what we need.

I have two questions: 1) Would Zbrush be a good tool for this? and 2) If so, I would be interested in finding someone that is skilled in it’s use for hire to create a sample model for us so that we could actually try out such a project.

I’m including a photo of a typical design that we’d like to create digitally. The attached photo shows a model that was actually carved from clay but there are big advantages to us if we can create these digitally, instead of from actual clay (ability to resize, etc.).

Any feedback Zbrush users could provide would be very much appreciated. Carrot.jpg

Jeff Russell
Vision Ceramics
jrussell@visionceramics.com

Hello jrussellred, welcome to the community, someone posted something similar awhile back - trying to do it.

It really isn’t that hard, I have had several models made into toys for my desk through a couple of processes - for characters I have created for shows. What you want is in essence simpler, but can be quite detailed.

If your software can take an OBJ or DXF created from an OBJ you should have no trouble at all.