ZBrushCentral

Building a new PC .. Need help picking which CPU: AMD or Intel

Hi all, I’ve been having a hell of a time deciding whether to go with an AMD or Intel CPU for my new computer that will be a happy medium for everything I do for work. I am primarily a 3D modeling/print artist, but also do some game modeling and Illustration. I am not really a gamer other than I do play abit of Overwatch and World of Warcraft.

80% of my time is in Zbrush and the rest is a mix of Maya, Substance Painter, and Photoshop. I do not render a whole lot other than setting up render passes to composite in Photoshop. Getting back into rending in MAYA is planned for this year.

Over the last few weeks I have been trying to do a lot of research and it is getting a little hard to choose. One review will say something like, AMD is better for Zbrush then the next will say that AMD has a lot of bugs which can cause issues ranging from RAM speed to overall performance. Intel seems to have less issues but is a bit more expensive to buy. I know that AMD will render faster and Intel has faster clock-speeds for snappier viewport work.

I have narrowed it down to 4 CPU’s

Ryzen AMD 2700x
Ryzen ThreadRipper 2920X
Intel i7 8700K
Intel i9 9700k

Any suggestions/feedback would be great and really appreciated.

Thanks again,
Kurt

Hi! Did you make your choice yet?
I’m somewhat in the same situation; I need new parts because the motherboard on my current PC is starting to fail.

The Threadripper might render faster than the others, but the Intel and Ryzen 7 has higher clock, which may give you better performance in Zbrush and other single core tasks such as working in Maya.

For rendering I’m not 100% sure whether fewer cores with higher clock speed or more cores with slightly less clock speed will be the winner of the race.