1. #1
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Pittsboro, NC
    Age
    38
    Posts
    608

    Lightbulb DynaMesh Master! unofficial - Information, Installation

    DynaMesh Master! unofficial - Information, Installation

    DynaMesh Master!
    [CLICK HERE TO GET CURRENT VERSION]

    (Current Version 1.4 Updated 3/23/2015)
    by: Joseph Drust and Nick Miller

    DynaMesh Master is a plugin that allows the user to set a Desired Polycount and generate a DynaMeshed mesh.

    This plugin is unofficial.




    Main features




    • Will automatically bake layers and clear masks before DynaMeshing
    • Will automatically scale the mesh to the correct size to reach the Polycount*
    • Options for Scaling up or Scaling down subtools for increased workflows


    * DynaMesh resolution is based on the bounding box of the subtool. If you have a small objects that would create a large bounding box the desired resolution may be off.

    Usage






    Installation

    UnZip the attached DynaMeshMasterV#.#.ZIP file to your \Pixologic\ZBrush 4R4\ZStartup\ZPlugs\ folder.
    Restart ZBrush.
    DynaMesh Master will be located under the Zplugin tab.

    Change Log

    v1.1: Initial Public Release

    Notes

    So I found out that Nick Miller actually lives right down the road; and we decided to do a little collaboration :) The initial 'DynaMesh by polycount' was conceived by Nick and is featured in his Zplugin 'Nick's Tools' http://www.zbrushcentral.com/showthr...708#post942708

    The attached standalone version (DynaMesh Master) has had an autoscale option added and some different math. Once again the coding may fail so please post any bugs you come across and I will try to fix them :)

    Also one more thing of note; check out Nick's new DVD on Eat3D about Zscripting!:
    http://pixologic.com/blog/2013/03/ne...g-with-zbrush/

    Hope the plugin helps!

    -Joseph

    [CLICK HERE TO GET CURRENT VERSION]
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Piggyson; 04-01-13 at 01:22 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10,571

    Default

    Good stuff guys, looking forward to trying it!

  3. #3
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Amazing tool....Thanks for Sharing..gonna try Now...

  4. #4

    Default

    Excellent improvement for Dynameshing!! much more speed workflow now.
    I only miss to have a hotkey to expand all this great palette, so i decided to clone the pallete and asign Alt+D shotcut to pop up it. Awesome polycount feature!
    Thanks a lot Joseph Drust and Nick Miller
    Last edited by ][-][4Z4R][)); 04-02-13 at 11:33 AM.


  5. #5

    Default

    Thanks for this plugin, but my model keeps crashing whenever i dynamesh with the scale up button. I only have it to scale up at 1 in the slider and my dynamesh resolution is only 1.5 million. The plugin under clean tool master also makes me crash all the time i want to use the dynamesh with scale option, i can only dynamesh the regular way and that is to not mess with its size, but just crank up the resolution slider.

  6. #6
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Great stuff guys, I have one question, can u increase the range of dynamesh to go below .5 million? Kinda what decimation master does...

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Piggyson View Post
    The attached standalone version (DynaMesh Master) has had an autoscale option added and some different math. Once again the coding may fail so please post any bugs you come across and I will try to fix them
    SO, is it faster than Nick's Tools ? I really liked his script but the only crit I have is it can take quite a while to get the maths done.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Raleigh NC
    Posts
    484

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BeatKitano View Post
    SO, is it faster than Nick's Tools ? I really liked his script but the only crit I have is it can take quite a while to get the maths done.
    Yes. It's way way way faster.

    The one in my plugin can be really slow when 'Project' is turned on in the Dynamesh menu. This feature is on by default (I think since 4r5?) per subtool which can be annoying. I still mistakenly leave it on before running the script. If you turn it off before you use it then it will be much faster. I plan to add a check in there to see if Project is turn on in the next update.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nyx702 View Post
    Yes. It's way way way faster.

    The one in my plugin can be really slow when 'Project' is turned on in the Dynamesh menu. This feature is on by default (I think since 4r5?) per subtool which can be annoying. I still mistakenly leave it on before running the script. If you turn it off before you use it then it will be much faster. I plan to add a check in there to see if Project is turn on in the next update.
    Indeed really faster but for that to work I've to not touch default dynamesh before I use dynamaster, otherwise it takes ages to calculate projections.

    Thanks a lot for releasing this plug, it sure is awesome (although I also experience crashes with the scaling functions, but R5 has been the most unstable version of zbrush since 3.0 so not sure if this comes from your plug or the app itself).
    Last edited by BeatKitano; 04-20-13 at 08:00 AM.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    239

    Default

    Great stuff! Love handy plugins like these - thanks a million!

  11. #11

    Default

    I really dig this plugin, really nice to keep polycount under control and yet retain almost every detail.

    I've a feature request though, I don't know if it's possible given the nature of subtools but I would love the polycount slider to retain last used polycount PER subtool (even if it's in a per sessions stored zvr)

    Right now I've to keep adjusting it when working on multiple subtools when dynameshing (I don't use the default one anymore, it speaks volume imo ).

    In any case, thank you for this I hope you guys will keep updating it with future versions of zbrush because I can't live without it anymore
    Last edited by BeatKitano; 04-28-13 at 02:50 AM.

  12. #12
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    239

    Default

    Actually, if you're looking for ideas for updates to it, a couple of other suggestions might be to have the Shell functionality added to it. It's necessary for hollowing out models and I use it quite a lot. Having the polycount option for that would be amazing! Another idea might be to create the new faces built by the shell as a new polygroup so you could easily select the inner faces.

    Just suggestions though, it's already great!

  13. #13

    Default

    This has been a huge timesaver and I really appreciate it. The one thing that I can't get to work is subtracting insert meshes...

  14. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jibberishballr View Post
    This has been a huge timesaver and I really appreciate it. The one thing that I can't get to work is subtracting insert meshes...
    Any Ideas?

  15. #15
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Windhoek (Namibia)
    Age
    73
    Posts
    370

    Default

    A man who works with his hands is a workman
    A man who works with his hands and his head is a technician
    But a man who works with his hands, his head and his heart is an artist •
    • St François d' Assise

Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •