1. #16
    Super Moderator Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Pittsboro, NC
    Age
    36
    Posts
    279

    Default

    @Campi: I'll see about adding that functionality for ya
    @stefanobernardi: I'll have to bug Marcus about the Curve Graph Coding; I'll see what I can do.
    @zber2: hendrik F is correct, only one *.obj is stored at a time. The next time you run Zwelder it will overwrite the old *.obj

    -Joseph

  2. #17
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    California
    Age
    56
    Posts
    361

    Default InsertMesh and Zwelder

    I couldn't get neither of these to show up under the ZPlugin Tab. I'm using ZBrush 4R4 P2.
    Ronald F. Hicks

    Graphic Designer/Cartoonist
    ArfGrafix

  3. #18
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    363

    Default

    I'm getting the following errors when trying to use zWelder with 4r5. I really like and use this plug a lot so I thought I'd show the errors in case there is a fix. I get these errors on any given object. Its always the same errors. I didn't get these in 4r4. The errors occur in order from the top down.
    Windows 7 64bit.


    Thank you,

    Ron

  4. #19
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    363

    Default

    Please disregard. I had the plugin only in zBrush 4r5\ZData\ZPlugs and not in zBrush 4r5\ZStartup\ZPlugs. It works fine now.

  5. #20
    Super Moderator Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Pittsboro, NC
    Age
    36
    Posts
    279

    Default

    ZWelder

    Change Log


    v1.6: Initial Public Release
    v1.7: MacOSX shortcut fix for Zbrush 4R5. Thanks to Marcus for the solution!

    Notes

    If you run into any issues let me know and I will attempt to fix them! Hope this plugin helps!
    Thanks!

    -Joseph
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #21
    Super Moderator Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Pittsboro, NC
    Age
    36
    Posts
    279

    Default

    InsertMesh Master

    Change Log

    v1.2: Initial Public Release
    v1.4: MacOSX shortcut fix for Zbrush 4R5. Thanks to Marcus for the solution!

    Notes

    Once again my Zscripting knowledge is average at best; if you find any bugs or other issues please report them in this thread.

    Thanks!

    -Joseph
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #22

    Smile micromesh and welding issue. Help!

    Hey there!, thanks for the awesome plugins. I am having and issue with micromesh and welding these coin pieces. I have tried many things, even going out and trying to weld the open edges in an external software, and cant make it work, still would love to fix this just with zbrush, I cant figure out what i'm doing wrong. So here are some images.

    I highly appreciate any insight into what i'm doing wrong or overlooking. By the way I also get the error tonare mentioned before though I do have zwelder installed in ztartup/zplugs folder.

    Thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	micromesh weld issue breakdown.jpg 
Views:	960 
Size:	301.4 KB 
ID:	361306   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	micromesh weld issue placement problem.jpg 
Views:	248 
Size:	156.4 KB 
ID:	361307   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	zweld error.jpg 
Views:	153 
Size:	136.5 KB 
ID:	361308  

  8. #23
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Beirut Lebanon
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vicentemente View Post
    Hey there!, thanks for the awesome plugins. I am having and issue with micromesh and welding these coin pieces. I have tried many things, even going out and trying to weld the open edges in an external software, and cant make it work, still would love to fix this just with zbrush, I cant figure out what i'm doing wrong. So here are some images.

    I highly appreciate any insight into what i'm doing wrong or overlooking. By the way I also get the error tonare mentioned before though I do have zwelder installed in ztartup/zplugs folder.

    Thanks
    try this out that might fix your issue micro mesh hood lesson
    http://pixologic.com/zclassroom/homeroom/lesson/military-assets-with-joseph-drust/

  9. #24

    Default

    Yes, I tried that.

  10. #25
    Senior Member Follow
    User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    On my boat
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,983

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vicentemente View Post
    Hey there!, thanks for the awesome plugins. I am having and issue with micromesh and welding these coin pieces. I have tried many things, even going out and trying to weld the open edges in an external software, and cant make it work, still would love to fix this just with zbrush, I cant figure out what i'm doing wrong. So here are some images.

    I highly appreciate any insight into what i'm doing wrong or overlooking. By the way I also get the error tonare mentioned before though I do have zwelder installed in ztartup/zplugs folder.

    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Vicentemente View Post
    Yes, I tried that.
    I got the same errors when I tried the plugin too....

    Did you watch the whole video above about the hood?
    The problem you are running into is two things I think, the first is that your object is not welding correctly because you have not used the Spin Edges trick to get everything pointed in the same direction (this is a guess on my part).
    The second problem COULD be that its simply too tall (in Z relative to the center of the object its being applied to).
    Bare in mind here Im kind of guessing, Im dealing with the same sort of problem. I don't know enough about this to say any of that as fact.
    Look though at the Spin Edges part of that video, its towards the end, I think that could help a lot.
    nope...
    I don't know what I'm doing but I'm doing it anyway.

  11. #26

    Default

    Hey thanks for the reply!

    I'm positive its not the spin edges, since I did know about that and tried that also. Maybe it's the second thing u mentioned. What is really curious is that some parts do weld while others dont. I have more projects on my hands at the moment and haven't been back to solving this. But will certainyl do so at some point.

    Thanks!

  12. #27
    Senior Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    483

    Default

    Many thanks for sharing these. Very useful!

    Cheers!
    TheRazorsEdge

    "Knowing is not enough, we must apply. Willing is not enough, we must do."
    - Bruce Lee -

  13. #28
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    24

    Default Thank you Joseph Drust

    Really appreciate your script. Log in just to say thanks.

    Confirmed: yes ZWelder works with Micromeshes. I run 4R6 W64. I tested it on a dozen different square/circular mms, no spin edge, all sticks. Only minor issue is Zwelded MM subtool won't keep initial micromesh polygroups.

    Zwelder is definitely stickier than Zbrush's own Micromesh>Weld Points, which only welded one out of my dozen squarish micromeshes.

    Zwelder is also more efficient in optimizing BPR2Geo micromeshed subtool than Micromesh>Optimising Points.

    Micromeshes must be even on all 4 sides for any welding operation to work. My take on why some MM sticks and some won't, is sizes. Too small or too big/overlapping, no vertex to cling to. X Y must have perfect symmetry. Regardless, Zwelder welded what Zbrush Weld Point failed to weld. Setting ZWelder threshold higher seems to ensure overlapping and welding success, even if it'll lessen overall uniformity, something I can live with.

    I will now test Zwelder on curve brushes and simpler operations like joining 2 polygroups.

    Thanks again Joseph.

  14. #29
    New Member Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Loveland, Colorado
    Age
    47
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Firstly, thanks for these Mr. Drust
    Question I had was if anyone has run these in the 4R7 update yet?

  15. #30
    Super Moderator Follow User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Pittsboro, NC
    Age
    36
    Posts
    279

    Default

    ZWelder
    (Ver 1.8 Updated 3/22/2015)

    Installation

    **** Make sure you have updated to 'ZBrush 4R7 P2' or later! *****

    ZBrush 4R7 32bit:
    UnZip the attached ZWelder_v1.8_x32.ZIP file to your \Pixologic\ZBrush 4R7\ZStartup\ZPlugs\ folder.
    Restart ZBrush.
    ZWelder will be located under the Zplugin tab.

    ZBrush 4R7 64bit:
    UnZip the attached ZWelder_v1.8_x64.ZIP file to your \Pixologic\ZBrush 4R7\ZStartup\ZPlugs64\ folder.
    Restart ZBrush.
    ZWelder will be located under the Zplugin tab.

    **** Make sure you have updated to 'ZBrush 4R7 P2' or later! *****


    Change Log


    v1.6: Initial Public Release
    v1.7: MacOSX shortcut fix for Zbrush 4R5. Thanks to Marcus for the solution!
    v1.8: Updated for 4R7 P2 x32 and 4R7 P2 x64 **Make sure you have ZBrush updated to 4R7 P2 or later**

    Notes

    Before installing this plugin for 4R7 check to see if the 'WeldPoints' function in ZBrush 4R7 will achieve the result you are looking for.

    In ZBrush 4R7 the 'WeldDist' [Tool:Geometry:Modify Topology:WeldDist] slider has been increased. Changing the value and then clicking 'WeldPoints' [Tool:Geometry:Modify Topology:WeldPoints] may generate a better result then the ZWelder will.

    -Joseph
    Attached Files Attached Files

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •