1. #16
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up Fixed

    Quote Originally Posted by tchoa View Post
    Good catch ionblue!
    My mistake! I wrote this too quickly, working with an existing .ma file goz linked... (stupid me)
    So the code should be the one, as we want to unlock the file before delete and rewrite it if it already exists:
    [CODE]
    // Then exports it to a Maya file. $maFileName = $GoZProjectPath + $gozName + ".ma";
    if (`filetest -r $maFileName`)
    python ("import os, stat\nmaFile = '" + $maFileName + "'\nos.chmod(maFile, stat.S_IWRITE)");
    sysFile -delete $maFileName;
    file -f -op "v=0;" -typ "mayaAscii" -es $maFileName;
    python ("import os, stat\nmaFile = '" + $maFileName + "'\nos.chmod(maFile, stat.S_IREAD)");
    [/CODE]
    But maybe it's not necessary to unlock the file before deleting it... anyway that should be ok now.

    Works great...........thanks

  2. #17
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    24

    Default

    So the problem I seem to be having with the script now is when I send it from Maya to Zbrush, the file becomes read only. This causes the UV to keep, but when I try sending it Zbrush to Maya, because the file is still read only Zbrush thinks no changes have been made and then crashes.

    Any ideas?

  3. #18
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    France - Montpellier
    Age
    39
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ionblue View Post
    So the problem I seem to be having with the script now is when I send it from Maya to Zbrush, the file becomes read only. This causes the UV to keep, but when I try sending it Zbrush to Maya, because the file is still read only Zbrush thinks no changes have been made and then crashes.
    Any ideas?
    Atm I've no one-click workaround for this issue.
    I'll post here if I find something when I've time to investigate...

  4. #19
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tchoa View Post
    Good catch ionblue!
    My mistake! I wrote this too quickly, working with an existing .ma file goz linked... (stupid me)
    So the code should be the one, as we want to unlock the file before delete and rewrite it if it already exists:
    [CODE]
    // Then exports it to a Maya file. $maFileName = $GoZProjectPath + $gozName + ".ma";
    if (`filetest -r $maFileName`)
    python ("import os, stat\nmaFile = '" + $maFileName + "'\nos.chmod(maFile, stat.S_IWRITE)");
    sysFile -delete $maFileName;
    file -f -op "v=0;" -typ "mayaAscii" -es $maFileName;
    python ("import os, stat\nmaFile = '" + $maFileName + "'\nos.chmod(maFile, stat.S_IREAD)");
    [/CODE]
    But maybe it's not necessary to unlock the file before deleting it... anyway that should be ok now.
    Hey, I'm having the same problem but when I try the code fix I get a "Windows Error"

    [CODE]# Error: file: C:/Users/Public/Pixologic/GoZApps/Maya/GoZBrushFromMaya.mel line 493: WindowsError: file line 3: 3 #[/CODE]

  5. #20
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,293

    Default Fixed without editing scripts

    Has nothing to do with scripts. Basically Zbrush hates outside the 0 to 1 UV space. If your model's Uvs are even near the outside borders of the space in maya it will fold the uvz in Zbrush using GoZ.


    So in Maya


    After you move the uvs in a little try GoZ and you will See (hey that rhythms).

    Enjoy
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	good.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	79.1 KB 
ID:	362416  

  6. #21
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    17

    Default What Canned Mushrooms said

    It may or not be what CannedMushrooms has said for you guys but I had a problem eerily similar to that of the OP and it was fixed by exactly the method CannedMushrooms says (after much weeping and gnashing of teeth).

    In maya before the export, go to UV map editor, grab the map and scale it down so nothing touches the edges.

    There's more: try to make sure there are no overlapping UVs because Zbrush doesn't like that.

    Also: a little trick inside of Zbrush: You have to make sure to have SUV *on* when subdiving organic shapes. Once you subdivide up high, go to create texture and then do "create texture from UV map" to see if anything happens bad. At that point you will see if the UVs have screwed up or not.

    For non-organic shapes make sure both SUV and Smth are OFF before you try subdividing. Do the same test to make sure that the UVs haven't freaked out during subdividing....

    Hopefully this will help someone.

    Quote Originally Posted by cannedmushrooms View Post
    Has nothing to do with scripts. Basically Zbrush hates outside the 0 to 1 UV space. If your model's Uvs are even near the outside borders of the space in maya it will fold the uvz in Zbrush using GoZ.


    So in Maya


    After you move the uvs in a little try GoZ and you will See (hey that rhythms).

    Enjoy

  7. #22
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Iran_Elfanta
    Age
    29
    Posts
    7

    Default Ok

    Hi All fees must when working with Maya and Edge is in a way the output (Export/import) will be in trouble.You must first fix errors that occur on Face And Edge.The obj output as standard for all options to the default obj.When the application software, an error message will be logged ZBrush issue.If you have any problem on arrival at the Maya ZBrush back and re-check all the fees.The symmetric

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •