1. #46
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    103

    Default

    Hey guys sorry about the late replies, busy slacking!

    in the second video,, somewhere around 5:59 mins of the video,, you used the scale transpose tool to scale the cube, i tried that with mine and it is not using the last transpose circle as pivot point,, it is scaling the object from the object centre and if i try the middle circle, it does uniform scale,,
    i tried tweaking the preference menu to get a better result,, all to no avail,, please tell me what I need to do
    I couldn't find the part of the video you were talking about (when you say the 2nd video, exactly what video are you referring to? Curve Insert Mesh Basics (the 2nd video on that page) or Slice Curve Inser Mesh Creature Part 2, or other?

    What it kind of sounds like...might be...is that I'm not actually doing a scale, I'm using the move transpose to scale (hit the "w" key while in transpose). In fact, I use Move to scale all of my objects along an axis UNLESS I'm doing a uniform scale (uniform scale being the only time I really ever use the scale transpose). Maybe that's it?

    I think I know the answer, but I thought I'd ask to be sure since there are so many options buried in the interface for someone relatively new to 3D period. I know you can change the size of a whole string of instances in a curve by changing the brush size, and the fade to a point like with the tentacles, but it seems to me they missed a great opportunity to have the option to control size/spacing with pressure sensitive pens. That would have allowed more expressive control. Or maybe I've simply missed it, but it seems to me you would have included that method in one of your tutorials if there was.

    Anyhow, having fun with it, I'm better at creating from imagination in 2D than 3D for some reason. I also wanted to ask if you recommend any particular method for learning human/creature anatomy, since my knowledge is unfortunately lacking in that area, I can of course create from reference, but I'm trying to get to the point where I don't need references less.
    You can play around with some settings, but off the top of my head I can't think of a way to do like a "thick - thin - thick -thin" based on tablet pressure, because like in the video, you have to change the falloff curve to do that...someone smarter than me could write a script that would take your pen pressure over the course of the stroke and make a falloff curve based on that? In the meantime, yeah as far as I know just adjusting the falloff curve after you draw the stroke out is the only way.

    Ryan Kingslien and Zack Petroc both do ZBrush-centric anatomy courses (and have videos to watch as well)...for me personally, it's just doing it over and over and over again until it becomes second nature. And I'll let you in on a little secret, it's not second nature to me yet, not even close. You better believe if I'm making a human or an animal or mixture of both, something creature-y, I've got my entire 2nd monitor covered in reference. I think my reference photo library is pushing 100gb, and I put it to good use. If I'm in the concepting phase I can be a little more fast and loose, getting the anatomy "pretty good-ish", but when it comes time to get everything down, I've got reference up. I've never felt completely comfortable winging it, and don't know if I ever will. I know what it would take for me to get there would be to do anatomy sculpts, forms, origin / insertions, poses, master studies, etc... e v e r y e v e r y e v e r y day. Unfortunately that's how I learn...doing something over and over and over and over again until I can do it in my sleep, and to be honest anatomy is one of those things I need to do more and don't. I wish I could just pick something up and be awesome, but, well. Such is life

    Sorry for the lame advice, that's the best I have lol. Do a million anatomy sculpts and poses from various sources, and you'll be amazing. At least that's what I'd have to do, you might learn faster than me!

    I always look at Jordu Schell, Andy Bergholtz, Simon Lee (Spiderzero), TonyCipriano, Ray Villafane...well, there's a ton of fantastic sculptors out there that know anatomy far better than I ever will, so pick your favorites and check out how they problem solve too.
    __________________
    Michael Pavlovich
    https://www.facebook.com/michael.pavlovich.3

  2. #47
    Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    32

    Default Thanks for the reply

    Quote Originally Posted by Pavlovich View Post
    Hey guys sorry about the late replies, busy slacking!



    I couldn't find the part of the video you were talking about (when you say the 2nd video, exactly what video are you referring to? Curve Insert Mesh Basics (the 2nd video on that page) or Slice Curve Inser Mesh Creature Part 2, or other?

    What it kind of sounds like...might be...is that I'm not actually doing a scale, I'm using the move transpose to scale (hit the "w" key while in transpose). In fact, I use Move to scale all of my objects along an axis UNLESS I'm doing a uniform scale (uniform scale being the only time I really ever use the scale transpose). Maybe that's it?



    You can play around with some settings, but off the top of my head I can't think of a way to do like a "thick - thin - thick -thin" based on tablet pressure, because like in the video, you have to change the falloff curve to do that...someone smarter than me could write a script that would take your pen pressure over the course of the stroke and make a falloff curve based on that? In the meantime, yeah as far as I know just adjusting the falloff curve after you draw the stroke out is the only way.

    Ryan Kingslien and Zack Petroc both do ZBrush-centric anatomy courses (and have videos to watch as well)...for me personally, it's just doing it over and over and over again until it becomes second nature. And I'll let you in on a little secret, it's not second nature to me yet, not even close. You better believe if I'm making a human or an animal or mixture of both, something creature-y, I've got my entire 2nd monitor covered in reference. I think my reference photo library is pushing 100gb, and I put it to good use. If I'm in the concepting phase I can be a little more fast and loose, getting the anatomy "pretty good-ish", but when it comes time to get everything down, I've got reference up. I've never felt completely comfortable winging it, and don't know if I ever will. I know what it would take for me to get there would be to do anatomy sculpts, forms, origin / insertions, poses, master studies, etc... e v e r y e v e r y e v e r y day. Unfortunately that's how I learn...doing something over and over and over and over again until I can do it in my sleep, and to be honest anatomy is one of those things I need to do more and don't. I wish I could just pick something up and be awesome, but, well. Such is life

    Sorry for the lame advice, that's the best I have lol. Do a million anatomy sculpts and poses from various sources, and you'll be amazing. At least that's what I'd have to do, you might learn faster than me!

    I always look at Jordu Schell, Andy Bergholtz, Simon Lee (Spiderzero), TonyCipriano, Ray Villafane...well, there's a ton of fantastic sculptors out there that know anatomy far better than I ever will, so pick your favorites and check out how they problem solve too.
    No need to be sorry, thanks for taking the time to respond. Maybe I should wander into the sctripting forum and drop a suggestion or something. Pressure sensitivity is great for organic forms if it's utilized. It's also good to know I'm not the only guy that struggles with anatomy without references. I've found I can sculpt fairly convincing faces without a reference, but then I HAVE drawn a million portraits. Still, I have a harder time doing that in 2D for some reason. that's why I'm finding myself creating in 3D before doing a painting now... lol For whatever reason I just seem to start better in 3D when I have no reference.

    I also apologize for my typos which gave me a laugh when I noticed that I still missed one upon returning. My brain tends to outpace my poor hands which aren't that great at typing anyhow, and they are left struggling to catch up with sometimes amusing errors. For now I suppose I'll be getting a few books and maybe storing any interesting reference pics I find for creature parts and whatnot. I do practice a lot, but I really need to get the interface down better before contemplating going through a million anatomy sculpts. If I have the time though, I probably will end up doing a million. Ambulatory or active living things are my preferred subject material.
    Last edited by The.Great.ESCape; 09-16-12 at 10:47 PM.
    "Art is a lie that tells the truth." ~Pablo Picasso
    Check out my deviantART account if you are so inclined: http://th3-gr3at-escap3.deviantart.com/

  3. #48
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    22

    Default

    This might be a noob question, but I keep getting the message when trying to use an insert curve brush -> "This mesh is composed of multiple subdivision levels" and doesn't do anything. I have tried searching these forums, google, the zbrush help documents, and tried re-watching your videos and I cant seem to find an explanation on how to set up your model for using these brushes... I can delete my lower sub division levels but I feel like its good to keep those till the model is finished?

    Please excuse my lack of knowledge on the subject but I just couldn't seem to find much information on why I get this message.

    Anyways thanks for the videos they have been incredibly helpful for me learning this software.

  4. #49
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    103

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Teeps View Post
    This might be a noob question, but I keep getting the message when trying to use an insert curve brush -> "This mesh is composed of multiple subdivision levels" and doesn't do anything. I have tried searching these forums, google, the zbrush help documents, and tried re-watching your videos and I cant seem to find an explanation on how to set up your model for using these brushes... I can delete my lower sub division levels but I feel like its good to keep those till the model is finished?

    Please excuse my lack of knowledge on the subject but I just couldn't seem to find much information on why I get this message.

    Anyways thanks for the videos they have been incredibly helpful for me learning this software.
    yes, insert brushes don't like subdivision history. the good news is you can delete it temporarily, do all the inserting you need to do, split off the insert meshes, and then reconstruct subdivisions on your original model.

    For example, take your mesh that you'd like to use insert brushes on, go to the highest subdivision level, and under geometry, hit the "Del Lower" button. Now use your insert brushes on the mesh. When you're done inserting, there's a number of ways to split off the newly added insert brush meshes-- you can make polygroups and use subtool > Split > Group Split; if you inserted the same mesh over and over again, you can use Split > Split to Similar parts; if you inserted different meshes that you want to be put into their own subtool when you're done, you can use Split to Parts; you can use visibility to hide parts of the mesh and use Split > Split hidden.

    Once you have your insert meshes split into their own subtools, go back to your original mesh (the one that you deleted subdivision history on), then go to Tool > geometry > Reconstruct Subdiv. That should get you back to where you started!
    __________________
    Michael Pavlovich
    https://www.facebook.com/michael.pavlovich.3

  5. #50
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pavlovich View Post
    yes, insert brushes don't like subdivision history. the good news is you can delete it temporarily, do all the inserting you need to do, split off the insert meshes, and then reconstruct subdivisions on your original model.

    For example, take your mesh that you'd like to use insert brushes on, go to the highest subdivision level, and under geometry, hit the "Del Lower" button. Now use your insert brushes on the mesh. When you're done inserting, there's a number of ways to split off the newly added insert brush meshes-- you can make polygroups and use subtool > Split > Group Split; if you inserted the same mesh over and over again, you can use Split > Split to Similar parts; if you inserted different meshes that you want to be put into their own subtool when you're done, you can use Split to Parts; you can use visibility to hide parts of the mesh and use Split > Split hidden.

    Once you have your insert meshes split into their own subtools, go back to your original mesh (the one that you deleted subdivision history on), then go to Tool > geometry > Reconstruct Subdiv. That should get you back to where you started!
    Thanks for the tips! This was incredibly helpful, I will definitely be trying these out soon. Last quick question.. once you draw a curve and it placed where you want it, what are you doing on the keyboard to leave that once in place so you can start drawing another curve brush out? I was hitting the "delete" under the curve options but I don't think that is the proper (or maybe quickest) way? Thanks again!

  6. #51
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    103

    Default

    ah; delete will do it, but to "lock" the mesh in place quickly, just click / tap the underlying mesh to "drop" your curve and start a new one
    __________________
    Michael Pavlovich
    https://www.facebook.com/michael.pavlovich.3

  7. #52
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Introduction Vids. Masking

    Hi Michael,

    Thank you for these fine tutorials. Can you help? I am starting from the beginning and and have probably missed something very simple but when I choose my 'alpha' with 'drag rect,' press ctrl to drag out my alpha mask, my pen tools change and I just get the normal mask function.

    Thanks,
    Dan

  8. #53
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    103

    Default

    make sure you're holding down "ctl" while you're changing the stroke to drag rect and plugging in your alpha--if not, you're just changing those settings on your current brush, then you're holding down ctl to access your mask, and it's switching to the default mask settings. so, hold down ctl, and while you're holding it down, change your stroke and alpha settings--it should just apply it to your mask brush.
    __________________
    Michael Pavlovich
    https://www.facebook.com/michael.pavlovich.3

  9. #54
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    635'N, 345'E
    Posts
    16

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by Pavlovich View Post
    I couldn't find the part of the video you were talking about (when you say the 2nd video, exactly what video are you referring to? Curve Insert Mesh Basics (the 2nd video on that page) or Slice Curve Inser Mesh Creature Part 2, or other?

    What it kind of sounds like...might be...is that I'm not actually doing a scale, I'm using the move transpose to scale (hit the "w" key while in transpose). In fact, I use Move to scale all of my objects along an axis UNLESS I'm doing a uniform scale (uniform scale being the only time I really ever use the scale transpose). Maybe that's it?
    Yeah... second video on the page... and thank you,, the move transpose works!!

    Best wishes.

  10. #55
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7

    Default CurveTriFill Video question

    Newbie here. I'm referring to the ZClassroom video about the CurveTriFill brush:
    http://www.pixologic.com/zclassroom/...curve-tri-fill

    I can follow along just fine until the second set of petals is created at 4:10 in the video timeline. When I create the second set of petals my first set disappears. But that doesn't happen in the video. Am I doing something wrong?

  11. #56
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default getting started zb4R4 links not working anymore

    Hi, I've started the tutorial 'Getting Started 4R4' while working with 4R4 and the links provided within the tutorial were working (and very useful).
    Since I upgraded to 4R5, the links don't work.
    For example, in chapter 'What Subdivision levels are', the link for "Subdividing" can't find its target. It's stuck at:
    http://www.pixologic.com/zclassroom/...uction-videos/

  12. #57
    Senior Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Greater Boston Area
    Posts
    270

    Default

    ZSusan,

    When you draw a curve the geometry is not created until you "clear" or "snapshot" the curves. What you see from drawing a curve is a representaion of what the geometry will look like. You can clear the curve by clicking on the support mesh away from the curve. Or you can go to Stroke>Curve Functions and press Delete. This establishes the geometry from your curve and masks it so you can draw another curve. If you want to keep the curve to reuse it you can go to Stroke>Curve Functions> and press the Snapshot button. This establishes the geometry and "keeps" the curve so when you manipulate the curve the first version of the geometry is created and masked and a representation of new geometry is displayed.

    I hope this helps.
    Last edited by DLangley; 01-10-13 at 04:31 AM.

  13. #58
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default

    hi Michael,

    I watched that tutorial and it's great. The tools you show are exectly what I need, but I have problem with clear connections after using qremesher. In my tests on dog tool when I cut leg slicecut and setup "same" for the same numbers of polygons and just hit qremesher, there show conncetion. But that connection is thin and like extrude into model.

    Anybody know where is the problem? I add here some pic, I know I don't select automask, but even with that there are still that problems.

  14. #59
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    ITaly
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Hello I watched the tutorial with the snakes and I was wondering if those IMM are available in Zbrush somewhere couse I cannot find, or perhaps downloadable freely somehwere? Or Perhaps not at all available?

    thanks for any answer.

  15. #60
    New Member User Gallery
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    14

    Default

    I am looking to make a feathers Curve Insert Mesh brush, I am part way there, but the brush that I have anchors each feather on to the curve by the middle of the object and I would like it if this could be anchored by the root of the feather - is there a way to achieve this? Thanks for any answers.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •