ZBrushCentral

BuzzOff Inspired WIP- critique PLEASE!!

So this is one of my first posts on here. And i feel that my Zbrush Work Is coming to a point where i need some constructive professional critique to really start to move forward. I am Completely Self taught (well if you count tutorials self taught).
i feel i have pretty good grip on modeling but i am finding it hard to wrap my head around materials. so some pointers there. maybe some direction to tutorials on the subject would be great. like when to use MatCap and when to use standard materials, and of course how to use them.

In regards to this piece its a loose interpretation of the character Buzz Off from He-Man. As its stands now i need to finalize the wings. with likely a fibrous muscular base, which there isn’t one yet. then the veins on the wings and if i can figure out how, a iridescent, trasparent material i think would really say insect. like an oily feel that might react to my lights. maybe repeat the feel on the eyes. with the multi-lens ed look to the eyeballs. Lastly maybe. MAYBE i’ll use fiber mesh to add the sparse hair you sometimes see on hornets. Would That be a little much? The Hands also are no existent right now. havin’ trouble rationalizing them to suit the character

So any critique, suggestions, ideas and comments would be GREATLY Appreciated :D:D

Matt Delano

Attachments

BuzzOffWip.jpg

He-man…Man I was a fan of that show when i was a kid…the latest 2002 remake of the original was nice also…I liked it’s look and feel… characters had a unique design and a stylized feel to them that made it look very cool. Hats off for your choice :D.

When you said “BuzzOff” I immediately wanted to see him. I like your sculpt I think it’s cool and with the changes you have in mind for him I think he’ll look 90% insect 10% humanoid…which is the look you’re going for for him here if i’m correct.
Judging from his face and the way you handled his hair. he reminds me of the predator. :slight_smile: