New Member User Gallery

Default Performance problem in Paint mode

Hi!

I'm new to Sculptris and to this forum (in fact it is about the only forum I've ever joined) but after spending a few days with Sculptris, and realizing it might just be the most fun I've had in years, I decided to join.

I'm an amateur illustrator, or rather, I spend a lot of my spare time with my two best friends - pencil and paper. Due to this hobby of mine I recently purchased an iMac and, coming from a mediocre PC, it is a world of difference. I'm currently waiting for my fresh copy of Photoshop CS5 and while I was waiting for a delivery from our friends at Adobe I ran across Sculptris.

After looking through a few tutorials and using the tools for the first time I was stuck! So intuitive, so simple and yet such pleasing results (even for a complete beginner like me). Makes me curious about Zbrush and as a marketer I have to applaud the guys at Pixologic for realizing this. Simply brilliant!

So far so good... Well, after having completed a first basic model (see attached jpeg) I decided to run a quick test of the Paint mode before I went all the way and added texture and detail. Unfortunately this is where my first disappointment came. Paint mode was running so slow it made my ancestors seem energetic in comparison. Although I have to admit, I did use more than enough triangles (just around 1,3 million or so..). But even so, I experienced no performance issues while in Sculpt mode, and even when I lowered the number of triangles to a mere 25.000 I experienced an excruciating amount of lag in Paint mode. So now I'm starting to think the trouble might be elsewhere? And what better way to find out than to make a first post in this great forum.